Keeping pets nowadays has become increasingly popular especially with people to kill their loneliness. Some people are of the opinion that only those who can take proper care of pets must be allowed to keep them, whereas others argue that it depends on one's perception of caring and this should not be enforced. This essay will describe why only people who can take care after their pets must be allowed to keep them.

Pets must be considered a part of one's family but in most cases this is not happening. For instance, a survey states approximately 65% of pets are not fed properly leading toe a decline in their life expectancy rates when compared to the same species in the outside world. This survey is in itself a strong indicator of why one needs to be accountable to their pets.

Most of the times pets are bought for killing boredom and not with the intention of taking proper care. For example, if a person buys parrots it is just for his entertainment and he does not pay attention to his food requirements. This has led to the pets becoming more lonely and weak when compared to their counterparts in the outside world.

Unless, and until a person is not ready to take proper care of the pet they must not be allowed to keep them. This essay has described the reasons why a proper register needs to be maintained for all the pet keepers whicch must be followed by periodic checking on teir standards.