Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so.

Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

These days, there is ongoing debate between people about that listening the music while studying or not. While it is possible to claim that people enjoy music while doing any task whether it is studying or showering. However, in this essay I will explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why people thought that it beneficial listening the music while studying, normally doing memorizing tasks. Brain stores that information quickly which have some emotions attached. Fetching of emotional information from brain is also quick and robust. By listening of the music we are actually attaching emotions with it. So, it will be easy to memorize the task with music.

Those who argue for music should not be listened while studying have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that while brainstorming or some research activity it is better to focus on one task at a time. However, music can be listened to fresh the mind after completing the activity. By doing task sequentially mind will not be disturbed. It happens that while doing parallel tasks people feel tired. This is the reason of multi-tasking which is not good for the health.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that i will not prefer multi-tasking rather complete each task separately. In addition to it, there should be a time to relax and enjoy, so in separate time one can listen to the music. By combining both things will consume more time and energy to complete each activity.