Some people believe the large shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. What is your opinion?

These days, there is ongoing debate between people that large shopping malls are replacing local shops which are threat to these small shops and bad for local economies. While it is possible to claim that large shopping malls are threating the local shops, in my view the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why there is a need of large shopping malls. One of them is that all the house hold items are available at one place. Hence, time of customers is saved as they don't need to find and travel for each item separately. It can also be argued that it is not mandatory that large shopping malls are from different countries. Usually, it happens people invest in large malls so that all type of products is available at one place. It should be taken into account that main thing to benefit local economy is that the product which is placed in the large mall is locally produced. If the local shops which are selling branded product then there is no difference in selling by large malls or local shops.

Those who argue that local shops should exist, have different view and say that it can be actually good thing. Firstly, it can also be claimed that people who are living in apartments should not go for small things to large mall. For instance, it looks awkward that if the tooth paste is finished in home and to buy that thing one needs to go to large mall. For these things, local shops should be available which actually save the time.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that large mall is not threat to local shops and local economy. The need for both types of shops is there.