Some people believe the large shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. What is your opinion?

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on whether shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. While some people argue that disadvantages overweigh the advantages of establishing shopping malls, on my point of view shopping malls should be encouraged to be establishe in modern cities. In this essay, I shall discuss factors to strengthen my argument while analyzing both the sides of the argument.

First and foremost, we will lokk into the myraid advantages that a counry can earn through the establishment of mega shopping malls, For example countries like Singapore, Sri Lanka can promote this idea becase these countries are considered as tourism hubs. Shopping malls can creat lucrative number of job opportunities to the workforce. Besides that, people will be able to experience different brands and theycan use it as a recretional purposes because shopping malls consists with shops, cinemas, food courts, spas etc.

On the other hand, shopping malls can make a considerable impact to the local shops, because most of the time tourist prefer to visit shopping malls considering their convinience. For instance, small handicraft industry can be effected since consumers have more selection availability inside shopping malls. Therefore, local shops have to minimize their profit margines in order to be competitive in the market place.

In conclusion, it is recommended to encourage shopping malls, at the same time governments have to take actions to mitigate the risks of small scale entreprenuers. It is beleived, that each business has a seperate niche market to cater, therefore there will be negligible impact on the local businesses in the long run.