Some people believe the large shopping malls are replacing local shops which is bad for local economies. What is your opinion?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people that large shopping malls are replacing local shops which are threat to these small shops and bad for local economies. While it is possible to claim that large shopping malls are threating the local shops, my view is that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why there is a need for large shopping malls. One of them is that all the household items are available in one place. Hence, the time of customers is saved as they do not need to find and travel for each item separately. It can also be argued that it is not mandatory that large shopping malls are from different countries. Usually, it happens people invest in large malls so that all type of products is available in one place. It should be taken into account that main thing to benefit the local economy is that the product which is placed in the large mall is locally produced. If the local shops which are selling a branded product then there is no difference in selling by large malls or local shops.

Those who argue that local shops should exist have a different view. Firstly, the malls are overcrowded on weekends and holidays. Sometimes it seems that everyone has same idea and go to mall. The corridors and crowded stores make shopping very difficult, people often end up forgetting the items they need to buy. Older people with mobility problems may have difficulty passing through the shopping center

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that large mall is not threat to local shops and the local economy. There is need for both large shopping malls and small local shops as they are main ingredient to local economy.