Some people see prisons as the place where criminals should be to teach them how to lead better lives. What is your opinion about the main function of time spent in prison is punishment or rehabilitations?

The debate on whether the primary function of prisons is to teach criminals how to lead better lives or punish them has never failed to attract public attentions. Although contested by many that the main purpose of prison is rehabilitation, such issue is regarded thoroughly as both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that the fundamental purpose of jail is to help criminals reflect on their crime and change for the better of society and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, nonviolent rehabilitation helps criminals return to society as normal citizens. This include education, psychotherapy and other treatments which invest at the root of the problem to bring positive influences on prisoners. In fact, a research done by U.S Department of Education shows that 40% fewer criminals returned to jail when they took the courses of reform during prison. Hence, it is more effective to use prisons as a tool of rehabilitation to ensure the chances of a prisoner committing another crime reduces, thus keep everyone safe in the community.

Furthermore, the amount of taxes spending on prisons had increased each year. Since most of these prisoners committed to crime due to lack of education and knowledge, these taxes can be better used on rehabilitate and prepare and them to return to society with occupational skills. According to one of my study, 50% prisoners are unlikely to return to jail after they have a solid income. Therefore, by changing the prison system with educating and training program does not only reduce crime rate, also saves huge taxes every year.

In conclusion, although, it is impossible to deny the importance of punishment in prison, rehabilitation should be the main function to prepare prisoners to return to society as good citizens.