Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars.

To what extent do you agree?

It is thought that isolating criminals in the prisons is the most effective way to maintain the safety of the society, however, some people believe that some prisoners, who are not dangerous to their society, should be punished by encouraging them to do community work instead of isolating them. I strongly agree with this view for two main reasons.

The first reason is the fact that prisons create more dangerous criminals than the streets as it allows the gangsters to gather and share their experiences which encourage them to do more and more immoral actions inside and outside the prisons. This problem can simply convert a normal persons, who had to spend short time in the prison for a minor felony, to a dangerous criminal who may be dangerous for people’s lives.

The second main reasons which makes me believe that not all the criminals should by punished by isolating them is that prison ,in principal, is away to correct the behavior of the criminals, therefore any other punishment that can guarantee this correction can be adopted. For example, criminals who are arrested for driving under the effect of alcohol should serve in the hospitals where they can learn about the catastrophic consequences of their unwise behavior. In addition, community work helps the criminal to build their confidence and make them feel that they are integrated into their societies.

In conclusion, sending criminals to prisons is still a very effective way to keep the order in the countries, however, prisons can lead to negative results with people who are convicted with minor felonies and for those people, engaging them with social activities is more effective and it ensures that they will not commit more crimes in the future.