Some people think placing advertisements in school is a great resource for
public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits
children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors. What
is your opinion?
These days, it has became a growing trend to see corporate sponsors placing
advertisements in school is a great resource for public schools that need
additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a
captive audience for corporate sponsors. As such, there are both merits and
demerists to this trend, although I am of the opinion of the latter outdo the
former.
There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous
one is that placing advertisements in school do not create good education
environment for students. Not only can advertisements aim on their own
benefits by trying to have more student customers, but they can not also give
good lessons for students because information deliver by advertisements may
not concern to lessons of student in many cases. Needless to say, all these
drawbacks have a far-reaching impact on education environment.
Another pivotal aspect of placing advertisements in school is that public school
are budgeted by government. The primary one stem from the fact that
government has to supply enought finance for public schools to run on their
activities. Last but not least, coporate sponsors may lobby to have the right of
placing advertisements in school, and this will lead to corruption in the
authorities. Hence, it is apparent why many are against placing advertisements
in public schools.
In view of the arguments outline above, one can conclude that the drawbacks
of placing advertisement in public schools are to dire to ignore.