Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additionally funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.Choose which position you most a

Although in the past publicity was mainly found in television adverts, nowadays is almost everywhere. Some people say it can even be used in public schools providing a financial aid to them, while others alert for the potential hazards on the children associated with it. Both parties could have their reasons, but I personally believe that children should be protect from big corporations’ harassment, mainly because children are a vulnerable group and for health reasons as well.

As a starting point of this discussion, we shall focus on the impact that advertisement have on susceptible groups, like children. To be more precise, kids are still developing, physically and psychologically, as well as they can be distracted from their studies. For instance, children are an easy target for big companies, because it is common knowledge what all children like, as candies or superheroes figures. Moreover, if schools are full of colourful pictures and big adverts promoting games on the smartphone, they will rather be playing than studying. These arguments are convincing, but there is one more persuasive topic to consider.

Now, we shall give emphasis to the impact that publicity can have on the health of students. To clarify this, we must focus on diet choices, and also, on the healthy activities that should be done by this age group. As an illustration, if schools are full of Coca-Cola adverts, this will persuade kids to drink more of this product, instead of healthier options, like water or natural fruit juices. In addition to this, if PlayStation games are heavily promoted, they will start to play more, spending more time on the couch, reducing physical exercise, and therefore increasing the incidence of childhood obesity and diabetes. These supporting factors show us why public school should be funded by the state, and not by advertising.

In summary, considering the negative effects of advertising on students, especially children, which are more vulnerable to it, also, being a source of distraction to studies and serious impact on their health, any publicity should be absolutely forbidden in public schools, and when funding is necessary, the government should provide extra support to that institute.