Student's marks deduction on late submission of assignment. Agree or Disagree.

Nowadays, whether universities should deduct marks from students' work if given in late or not has attracted numerous controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people agree with the university, while others hold the opposite view. From my perspective, I strongly concur with the former.

First and foremost, the point deduction is fair to the students who submit their assignments on time, and it can help those who do not hand in their homework on time become more discipline. To be more specific, under the pressure of deducting scores, the students will try to arrange their own time. For example, they can make an appointment with friends to finish the homework at a certain time and then play together.

Meanwhile, another factor should be considered is that if there is no punishment for these students, then the learning environment will be terrible. In other words, if one student doesn't hand in his assignments on time and gets away with it, more and more students will follow suit. However, if they find it difficult to finish the work on time, I suggest they ask the teacher for guidance. For example, when they encounter problems that need time to solve, they can ask for an extension from their tutor

In conclusion, I hold the view that students should be penalized for late homework. To address this issue, the university and students should make joint efforts.