What is your opinion on deducting marks on student's work if it is late?

Nowadays, whether universities should deduct marks from students' work if given in late or not has attracted numerous controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people agree with the university, while others hold the opposite view. From my perspective, I strongly concur with the former.

First and foremost, the point deduction is fair to the students who submit their assignments on time, and also it can help those who do not hand in their homework become more discipline. To be more specific, these students who hand in their homework late should learn time management and try to distribute the time rationally. For example, we can make an appointment with our friends to finish the homework together at a certain time and then play together.

Meanwhile, another factor should be considered is that if there is no punishment for these students, then the learning environment will have a negative impact. In other words, if one student doesn't hand in his assignments on time and gets away with it, there will be more and more students who don't hand in their assignments on time. However, if they find it difficult to finish the work on time, I suggest they ask the teacher for guidance. For example, when they have trouble with their homework, they can ask for an extension.

In conclusion, I hold the view that students should be penalized for late homework. To address this issue, the university and students should make joint efforts.