For a successful company, selling products depends more on company's reputation or it depends more on if they provide discount and free offers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the phenomenon of company’s discount has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world, which leads to a moot question “whether selling products for a successful company depends on its reputation or providing a discount?”. It is a widely held view that providing free offers is highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up carefully the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common belief that considering a discount for products plays a vital role in the world of cut-throat competition. Therefore, I express several reasons why I support this idea. First and foremost is that short-term discount makes the companies boost up their revenues to grow the productions. Secondly, it can be argued that discount provides potential buyers with appropriate circumstances to purchase their basic needs with reasonable price. In addition to this information, it should be mentioned that not only the companies increase their earning capacity but also they are able to achieve popularity among consumers. A very tangible example to illustrate would be China that presents an extensive range of merchandise at a lower price all over the world.

However, undoubtedly free offering provides people with various negative points. It should be taken into account that the majority of these goods are flashy and without enough quality or durability, so potential buyers are convinced to buy the product without knowing them. Moreover, a large amount of money is spent on advertisement and the announcement of discount by the companies.

To recapitulate, I entirely agree that free offers or discount can be the most important contributors to successful companies. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce stricter legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.