Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are a role model for youngsters. Do you support or not?

Recently, the phenomenon of stars emerging as role-models for children and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that idolizing a megastar is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly constructive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that following in the footsteps of a successful individual can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From a social standpoint, world-famous trailblazers can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that being inspired by a public figure, as well as relating to a celebrity’s personal struggles, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the positive effect of admiring an Olympic athlete on a student’s athletic performance. Thus, beneficial ramifications of popular culture icons as an inspiration source apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of psychology, puberty might increase the consequences of looking up to someone. Moreover, fundamental aspects of shaping the future generations relate to this reality that the demerits of being influenced by a star pertain to setting higher goals for yourself. As a tangible example, a scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that the downside of having no role-models as a teenager is correlated negatively with academic performance. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of the youngsters being encouraged by idolizing their favorite public figures.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of the youth choosing a famous role-model far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of looking up to an athlete prove the significance of being motivated, but also pinpoint having discipline in life implications.