Team sports are promoted as a great way to maintain health and build character. However, violence between supporters and antisocial behavior has often been seen during such events. If sporting events can lead to such behavior, can team sports be good for us?

Although a small number of sporting events are marred by violence and other antisocial behavior, majority of these events go by without such incidents taking place and, in my opinion, actually provide for a range of benefits to both participants and the spectators alike.

Most sports, in general, require a certain level of physical fitness. Through training and actual participation, sportspeople tend to have higher levels of fitness than others, which can be highly beneficial. Team sports in particular also involves a high amount of cooperation and understanding between fellow team members. You are required to work together, and in some instances even have to sacrifice personal glory for the benefit of the entire team. These are skills which can be carried forward in our day to day lives.

The benefits of team sports are not limited to participants. Spectators feel elated and celebrate the success of their teams and likewise, they also support their team during the bad times. This creates a sense of oneness within the community. Programs involving the participation of youth in sports training help divert their attention from other non-productive antisocial elements and focus their attention on character building. This is particularly useful in regions prone to such elements.

While more work needs to be done by authorities over controlling fan violence and antisocial behaviors at sporting events, I believe that these ills are outweighed by the numerous benefits and team sports should be promoted as a way of keeping fit and developing important life skills