Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are a role model for youngsters. Do you support it or not?

It is argued that successful sports personalities and film stars can be looked as a role model for the youth. This essay disagrees with this statement and believes that doing so may not be in the best interests of the younger generation. The essay will first discuss the potential negative impact that mirroring sports personalities and film stars can have, along with supporting arguments, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why we should not look up to sportsmen and role models. But the most notable one stems from the fact that only the bright side of their success is portrayed. As an example, a person who has attained any level of success in sports will have had to put in years of rigorous effort and practice to be great at their craft. Moreover, this hard work is often not shown to the youngsters thus showing only the attractive part of their lifestyles.

Some may offer a contrary argument, noting the achievements of such famous people is worthy of a fan following. However, it also needs to be taken into consideration the undesirable habits like drinking and smoking of film stars are often shown in their movies. The most concerning aspect about this fact is young people may not be able to distinguish between a good and bad behaviour, leading them to believe that such activities can be carried out by them as well. This idea is completely unacceptable, as it can impact the development of youngsters for the negative.

Taking into account the arguments discussed, we can conclude that successful sports stars and glamorous film stars may not be the best role model for youngsters.