Television is mainly used as either a media to gain information or entertainment. Some people think that television is more to an informative device, others argue that it is purely a device for entertain people. This essay will discuss that TV is in fact serves more function for entertainment than informative media.

With the vast development of internet nowadays, TV starting to lose its purpose as a device to gain local news. People opt to mobile devices more as they get notification in real-time as soon as the news happen, whether if they come in media or text form. For example, people who get informed by the local traffic news to avoid certain location will get the direct benefit from the news rather than have to get the information from the TV that is sitting at their home. Needless to say, TV is not portable as compare to mobile devices if being used for device to gain information from.

Furthermore, it can be observed that recently the TV became larger each releases. People are reported to gain more fun when watching movies or playing games with high-definition and larger screen. In shorts, producers also indirectly acknowledge TV roles in entertainment by publishing more high-definition TV to the market, which is the more reason why they are more suitable for entertainment purposes.

This essay has discussed TV roles as both information and entertainment device and the reason why it starting to lose its purpose as informative media. I am consummately in accord that it is in fact more efficient to use TV as an entertainment device.