Test

This morning while commuting to the office along with Parbhjeet (My old boss from Xuber) and Pankaj Payal (Xuber Implementation Manager), I was in a pensive mood about my finances and was reading a book called "The Richest Man In Babylon".

I am like this book because it is nicely written and the approach towards managing money is extremely pragmatic. I liked the part where the author said: "A part of whatever you earn is for you and NOT all". I was perplexed and bewildered about this sentence.

The obvious questions came to my mind was: Why not all which I earn is mine?

The author is this book beautifully described this as, whatever I earn is not all mine because from that earning I have to pay to my landlord, my car loan, my house EMI to the bank and home expense. Basically, I pay to everyone except me- the one who worked hard to earn all the money. This is true, I never paid to myself as the way I pay to the bank, to the landlord, and to the car insurance company. This is fair. Not fair at all at my end.

So, fast forward to today when we are commuting to the office. I narrated this story to Prabhjeet and he listened calmly and after ruminating for a while he said: "Change you Reporting". I was confused and looked at him and he said again change you reporting man! and report to yourself rather than report to anyone else.

This hits me hard like a rock and I started pondering about it and realized that this makes complete sense to me. If I report to myself then I know where I stand.