Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high - for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protest citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual ?

Tobacco is one of the most widely consumed drugs in the world today. Over a billion people smoke cigarette and this effects their health. Eventually, the health costs of smoking cigarettes are really high because it causes life-threatening diseases. To curb this menace both governments and individuals have an instrumental role to play.

Firstly, people who smoke cigarette not only harm themselves but also are a cause of passive smoking for the people in their environment. Moreover, individuals are influenced by their role models for picking up this bad habit. For example, when people see their favourite movie stars and heroes smoke cigarette they get quite influenced and start smoking. As a result, this negatively affects both the individuals and wider community. Smoking results in heart problems and even cancer, and this results in high health costs in the long term. Also, as the government cover for the medical expenses of the individuals in many countries it affects the wider community because these expenses are covered from the taxes paid by the citizens.

Hence, individuals must understand the disadvantages of smoking and quit this habit.

Governments can also play a critical role in order to protect the citizens from the bad effects of smoking and help them quit cigarette. At the outset, the government can levies taxes on the sales of cigarettes to reduce its consumption. Additionally, it must conduct awareness initiatives and drives to educate the people on harmful effects of smoking. This can help reduce the number of smokers.

To recapitulate, both government and individuals need to play their part in preventing this habit and make the world a safe and secure place to live in.