Tobacco mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high for smokers themselves and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke or are such decisions up to the individual?

Tobacco becomes a menace threat for a human life, which is a prominent drug used by over a billion adults mainly in the form of cigarettes. While some people think that governments have legitimate role to take legal action against smoking, others think that everyone has the right to make decisions if they want to quit smoking or not. This essay will discuss both views in detail with an example.

To commence with, governments should take legal action against those companies who are producing cigarettes at a rapid pace. There are many countries in the world that have banned cigarettes production. For instance, Dubai has prohibited the production and utilization of tobacco in any form. That is why the mortality rates in Dubai are less than other countries. Many teenagers are already predisposed by the usage of tobacco, which makes more difficult for them to get rid of cigarettes. That is why governments and adults must work together to distribute the knowledge about enduring effects of tobacco.

On the other hand, some people maintain that people are smoking because it gives them pleasure. According to proponents, the main reason people are smoking to curtail their daily life stress and to be more active. These people have underestimated the adverse and long term effects of the drug tobacco. For example, research done by MIT proved that millions of people died every year because of lung cancer which is mainly caused by the consumption of tobacco. Apart from lung cancer tobacco can cause diverse health issues such as, heart attack, asthma, etc.

In conclusion, tobacco must be removed from the menu because of its harmful effects. In my opinion, those people with the habit of smoking are not just putting themselves in endure health effects, but also people around them.