With the advent of Internet age, increasing number of workers are doing their jobs from home and communicating with their office through Internet. Known as telecommuting, this trend is expected to catch up with most office workers in the coming decades. How is the trend likely to impact society and the way we live and work?

Internet is rapidly changing the traditional way of work and its corresponding impacts have sparked a heated debate. While some people think that telecommunication has made life much easier, reliable and convenient, others maintain that internet technology adversely impacting the society and the way we use to live and work. I am inclined to think that the benefits of working at home using internet are vast and rich, and i will analyze that throughout this essay.

To begin with, the fundamental concept of internet is to provide people income and knowledge at a very low cost. Due to the advent of internet, a person can get knowledge at home, and also make money, which is crucial to survive in the current era. In addition, people are able to work at home, while taking care of their family, and handling other important matters. For instance, researchers predicted that within next few decades telecommunication will be an essential element of a person life. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I used internet daily for diverse purposes including, communication, studying, research, etc.

For a social standpoint, some demographics think that internet has been negatively impacted people social life, because they are spending most of their time front of a computer. These people have underestimated the benefits of internet, because they think internet is degrading people relationship. As a tangible example, some scientist research undertaken by a MIT university has asserted that the benefits in a person social life are correlated with the social life through internet.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the internet has provided lots of people opportunity and a happy life.