Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What’s your opinion? Good or bad?

People are arguing that modern large shopping malls are surrogate for small shops. While some people think that small shops are not providing much to the community, others maintain that prominent shopping malls are not convenient for everyone. I am inclined to believe that both shopping malls and small shops have pros and cons, and I will discuss the controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

To begin with, the main purpose of a shopping mall is to provide multifarious products to their customers. These people have highly appreciated those shopping malls, who provided them with variety of products. For instance, in the current era various shopping malls are providing delivery services to their customers. According to my own experience, when I was studying at university, I always prefer ordering things online, because it was reliable and less time consuming.

From a social standpoint, people have underestimated the main benefits of having small shops near to their home. The one main benefit is that they do not have to spend a lot of time searching something in a big shopping mall, which they can easily find at a local store. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that in some cases small business proprietors have gained more prosperity than big business owners. Thus, it is hard to speculate the benefits of a big shopping mall with a small shop in a specific region.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that a small shop can be a plus point, because it does not make sense to buy a water bottle from a shopping mall rather than a local store.