One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is that there is a colossal upsurge of replacing small shops by large malls. There is a widespread concern that some people believe large shopping malls are good for shopping in town and cities but proponents are against it. In my opinion, I agree with the statement of replacing large number of local shops by big shopping malls.

There are many arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that the big malls in cities provide consumers with a wide variety of services under one roof and consume less apace. In fact, not only do this saves the time of going here and there but also is economy for us. For instance, consumers of Sydney, Australia can purchase almost all of their wants under one roof of Westfield mall and save taxi travel cost. Needless to say, all these merits stand for skyscraper shopping malls in good stead, as far as space and travelling distance is considered.

On the other hand, one detrimental aspect of this argument is that it is very expensive to build those tall and big shopping malls, as a result, the products available are expensive too. For instance, there are a number of researches by various governmental bodies that show that a branded jacket of Kathmandu is very expensive bought from a Queen Victoria building. Besides, it is very hard to find the product for an illiterate person in malls. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the concept of large shopping centres.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of large shopping centres in cities and towns are indeed too great to ignore.