Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is the colossal upsurge in visiting museums and historical sites. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns in the society. In my opinion, museums has more negative impacts than positives in the local society.

On the one hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant benefits of visiting historical sites is preserving most valuable assets handed to us by our ancestors. For example, local business, unlike in the past, now have generated more income, as they do not have to stay idle, thanks to the tourism industry.

On the other hand, there are several arguments in favour of my stance. One of the most preponderant ones is that local tourist has negative consequences for the society in various ways. Firstly, people are paying more amount for entry fees similar to foreigners which is very expensive such as in national parks. According to "Times Magazine December 2017 edition", the proportion of Indian local visitors to Dudhwa National Park has dropped from 30 percent to 10 percent today. Secondly, a large portion of information can be grabbed within your fingertips because of the internet facilities.

Lastly, in my opinion, the government of India is taking a great initiative in educating its citizens against the negative impact of not visiting local museums. Locals are being encouraged to spend some of their time in museums, to create more importance of it.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite have some benefits, the drawbacks of visiting museums in the society are indeed too dire to ignore.