Tertiary education is usually conducted in institutions such as universities which are less in number. As the access to these kinds of institutions are limited, students often need to travel long distances in order to study in them. I am inclined to believe that travel is really not necessary for tertiary studies, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

World of technology is changing at a rapid pace. The barriers of accessing knowledge have shattered through the advancement in information technology. Now students can sit in the comforts of their home and learn about things without shedding a drop of sweat. Moreover, avoiding travel to distant universities have an economic angle too. Education is costly and such steps to avoid spending helps students in big time. Thus travel has become optional for attaining knowledge for a student.

Although travelling is expensive and is not an important factor for attaining knowledge, it has some hidden advantages too. When students with different cultures intermingle, the cultural barrier will diminish. Hence travelling for tertiary studies can be a beneficial thing too.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the argument- travel is not that necessary for tertiary studies far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the technology advancement, but also due to economic factors.