TV informative or entertaining.

Visual media has become virtually inevitable part of almost every household since it was invented. Some people consider it as a tool to enhance their knowledge; others use it as an entertainment tool. I am inclined to believe that utilising this technology for information purposes outweigh its relaxation and amusement purposes, and following paragraphs will elaborate on both aspects of the Television to discuss the effectiveness of them in more detail.

On one hand, the television provides individuals with a myriad of beneficial information. Majority of people keep up with international events or latest advancements in technology or medicine via visual media. For example, according to my observation, many people get to know major natural disasters such as earthquakes, tsunami and volcanic eruptions in a country via international news shows and help the victims who suffer. On the other hand, many people already work very hard and have to study to develop themselves. As a result, when they are at home, they just want to sit down and relax on their own or with their family. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Texas in 2016 found that most of the people prefer enjoying their favourite TV programs and having a few laughs after an exhausting work day, whether it is a sitcom or evening talk show.

In conclusion, while both the entertainment and informing roles of the television are undeniably significant, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the latter benefits human lives better although visual media realises each of them efficiently.