The university will deduct the student’s score for late assignments, opinions and solutions.

Or Should University penalize students for late submission of their work?

At university, students are commonly assessed through individual or group assignments. Some people think that penalty due to late submission is reasonable while others argue that it is not necessary. This essay will argue that while such punishment is strict and imposes pressure on students, it is mandatory to do so.

To begin with, due date requires students to manage their time effectively and avoid procrastination. Penalty is an effective way to gain students commitment on completing the tasks within the time frame. For instance, while working on multiple projects at the same time, students are self – control on their timetable. To avoid losing marks, they are more likely to plan their schedule and assign a reasonable amount of time for the task. By meeting the deadlines, students demonstrate their commitment in completing tasks and good time management strategy.

Secondly, opponents might argue that some tasks are challenging for some students, and consequently, students should not be penalised for delay submission. However, it is unfair to treat those who submit their assignments on time as those who fail to do so. In fact, most universities provide assistance to students in completing their assignments. To clarify, students are free to discuss with each other or their professors. There are other services to help with other aspects of the assignment such as writing essay, statistical analysis or software demonstration. Thus, while penalty puts pressure on students, it also encourages them to employ proven study aids to complete their assignment.

To conclude, this essay has argued that students should receive penalties when they fail to submit their assignment on time. Such punishment ensures students commitment on sufficiently using all available resources offered by university to carry out the given task efficiently.