The University will deduct students score for late assignments, opinions and solutions

The effect of university deducting students score for late assignments which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of deducting student’s scores has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on late submission in recent years. It can be said that universities should deduct marks for late assignments. This essay will elaborate how deducting scores brings responsibility among students and how teachers should guide their students to submit the assignment on time.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why university deducts marks for late assignments, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that it improves the student’s responsibility and punctuality. Furthermore, it brings a fear amongst students by deducting marks for late submission hence making them responsible and punctual. For instance, UNSW in Australia deducts 25% of the final score for late submission hence students tend to mostly be punctual with their assignments.

Approaches to deal with marks being deducted for late assignments are numerous, but the most effective one is that teachers can work closely with their peers by guiding them and checking on regular intervals to submit the assignment on time, which is not impracticable and attainable, but comprehensible and attainable. Furthermore, this may help the struggling students to correct their loopholes. As an illustration, Albert Einstein was able to achieve the Nobel price only because he closely worked with his professors. Universities deducting student’s scores, therefore, can play a vital role in increasing a student’s punctuality.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the impact of deducting scores for late assignments is prominent, and the way teachers helping the students overcome the issue of losing marks should not be overlooked.