These days, with the growing demand for specialists in the job market all over the world, the question of proper candidates recruiting has become a subject of considerable debates. While some companies tend to hire people based purely on their academic degree, others pay more attention to personality and ability to work in team. This essay will analyse the topic from different sides and show that personality skills, as well as the ability to be a team player, are more important than any academic qualification.

To begin with, the personality skills, also known as soft skills, such as communication, self-responsibility and attitude, are remarkable for the complexity to train and develop. This, in particular, makes the skills more valuable and desirable comparing to hard skills, which an academic degree is mostly about. For example, the latest research performed by the Institute of Career Development in Australia revealed that candidates with good personality skills had about 40% higher chance to get a job in world-known companies, like Google, Microsoft or Apple.

Another pivotal point to mention is that being a good "team player" usually brings more value to a company. This happens due to synergizing skills of other team members and pushing the combined efforts for achieving better results. For instance, this point is supported by another interesting research conducted by an independent journalist for the Association of Head Recruiters in Australia. It reported that companies seeking primarily for "team players" tended to show from 5% to 8% higher annual grows.

Finally, despite the obvious importance of an academic qualification to fulfil a role in a company, I firmly believe that soft skills, including personality and ability to work with others, are usually more beneficial for company and bring better value.