In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books.

Agree or disagree

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In this age of television or digital world, people generally think that reading book is not much important now as everything can be learnt by watching television.

This is true that everything can be learnt from television easily and in less time as we can have visualization of the things that we are learning about. But the point is that although one knows all the facts about any particular subject, if someone asks him to explain about it, he can never do it unless he has had ever read about the same in some book. And to bear a good personality or to represent oneself in a group or to acquire leadership skill, one must have the ability to explain the things that he knows. If one knows everything about something but cannot explain, it is worth not knowing about it.

Books have many advantages like, they contain complete theories and definitions and descriptions. We can say that only book contains real knowledge. One may not say that learning from television is not worthy either. It has its own advantages. By watching audio-visual depictions of several scientific and sociological topics and there simulations, discussions and detailed documentaries, we can have a better feel of the subject we are learning about. Moreover, it saves time by learning through the digital media.

Keeping all those points in mind I disagree to the above given statement. For learning something reading books is essential and must and television is just a supplement. Hence, for the modern world, traditional learning through book reading and writing is much better than incorporating knowledge through the digital media in general and television in particular. It has been proven through research and facts that learning through television is effective only when there is a fair amount of theoretical and book based knowledge. Therefore, it only expedites the process of understanding a subject but does not replace proper, regular, regimented and methodical reading of the academic curricula.