As you read the passage below, consider how Jimmy Carter uses • evidence, such as facts or examples, to support claims. • reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence. • stylistic or persuasive elements, such as

In Jimmy Carter’s passage, “Arctic National Wildlife Refuge”, he argues that the Arctic National Wildlife refuge should not be utilized for industrial purposes. He supports this passage by using the effectiveness of personal anecdote and vivid language. He proves that the industrial benefits are not worthwhile.

Carter uses personal anecdote in many places, but he uses it the most when he states, “More than a decade ago, [my wife] Rosalynn and I had the fortunate opportunity to camp and hike in these regions of the Arctic Refuge. During bright July days, we walked along ancient caribou trails and studied the brilliant mosaic of wildflowers, mosses, and lichens that hugged the tundra.”(Carter 2) This shows how Carter tells us that he had once experienced this vast landscape, and he desperately wants to protect it. He wants other, younger people to experience what he once had. His use of personal anecdote is very convincing and shows sympathy and respect for himself.

Secondly, Carter shows usage of vivid language. He inspires people by putting an image of what he is so desperately trying to protect. He states, “This magnificent area is as vast as it is wild, from the windswept coastal plain where polar bears and caribou give birth, to the towering Brooks Range where Dall sheep cling to cliffs and wolves howl in the midnight sun.” he is explaining about the view that he knows stands. He shows everyone about the vast nature of the wild animals located there. He makes other people disagree with producing industrial reasoning by using this rare land. He uses the vivid language to show us what the consequences would be of producing an industry.

Jimmy Carter is a wide supporter of wildlife. He tries convincing everyone to help and influence others with the problem of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge becoming utilized for industrial purposes. He shows great sympathy for this extraordinary land by using and producing person anecdote and vivid language.