With the growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM food offers available solution to this problemTo what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, a great deal of attention has been paid to how to deal with the food-supply crisis caused by the increasing world population. Some may believe that one of the possible solutions to this problem would be GM foods, while others may be of the opinion that the technology would be extremely harmful. In my opinion, genetic engineering would be a promising strategy, if such a measure would be implemented wisely.

The first point to be considered is the fact that GM food technology makes it possible that crops grow bigger and faster. For instance, according to the recent research conducted by one of the prestigious universities in Japan, GM wheat, rice or other staple crops require only a half of growth period and create a double amount of harvest on average compared to not GM ones. Such characteristics of GM crops will contribute to supplement the global food shortage. What’s more, some GM crops are more resistant to disease or insects. Evidence for this development is found in positive results have been reported one after another that GM crops have successfully increased the amount of yield while inhibiting damages caused by disease or insects. It is important especially for developing countries where food shortage is severe because these countries have suffered from disease or insects damage for many years.

On the other hand, some people may worry about that there may be risks involved in the genetic engineering foods. Their primary concern would be that GM crops might change whole ecosystems; food chains can be broken if crops are resistant to predators. However, given the fact that a series of laws are now introduced to minimise the negative impact on the natural environment from genetic engineering technology before its implementation, such fears seem somewhat excessive.

To sum up, we can expect that GM foods would be an effective measure to save to many people from famine if we correctly use the technology to harmonise the natural environment.