Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only .Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children .What are its causes and solutions can be offered?

The era in which we live has seen many challenges, one of which is the alarming increase in obesity among youngsters. This essay seeks to investigate the causes behind this negative development, followed by offering reasonable solutions.

While there is a cascade of reasons for this unfortunate trend, a few of them are more prominent. First and foremost, due to the advent of video-gaming, today’s children are less physically active compared to the previous generations. These days, children prefer to play with their video game console instead of playing physical games with their peers. Therefore, the extra calories in their body do not burn and create disorders such as obesity. Secondly, the number of households who eat home cooked meal has significantly dropped in recent years due to the fact that both parents employed; therefore, consumption of unhealthy food has increased. Consequently, children are often overweight. Moreover, the abundance of unhealthy snacks that target the age between 5 and 12, adds to the variety of junk food eaten by children, which is another cause.

On the other hand, a few reasonable methods can be adopted to solve the obesity problem in children. Firstly, children should be discouraged from playing video games frequently and should be inspired to play alternative games that are physically active such as sports instead. Secondly, there should be more emphasis on healthy eating in families by removing junk food from the family diet. Last but not least, some legislation should be introduced to constraint the production of unhealthy snacks that allures children. This way, the availability of the aforementioned products in the market will be lessened.

All in all, it can be concluded that disturbing spread of a disorder such as obesity among youngsters is caused by various reasons like scarce physical activity and unhealthy eating. However, by utilizing methods such as encouraging children to play sports, removing junk food from families’ diet and limiting unhealthy snack production, it can be averted.