In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, people have a tendency to shop in large malls instead of local stores. As a result, the latter enterprises have faced bankruptcy. It can be asserted that this trend has been both positive and negative. This essay seeks to investigate both perspectives, followed by a comprehensive deduction.

On the one hand, there are a plethora of prominent advantages in connection with this development. First and foremost, shopping from large shopping centers is more convenient and less time-consuming. To elaborate, all demanded items are gathered in one place and the need for visiting a variety of different shops is eliminated which saves time and makes shopping easier. For instance, one has the ability to purchase a diverse range of merchandise from canned soups to a chainsaw. Moreover, they are easier to access. For example, There are a lot of parking spots available around the malls; hence, the challenge of finding parking spots on busy streets in order to shop from small stores is tackled once and for all. Last but not least, the items in large shops are cheaper. To justify, studies conducted by various sources show the products that are on sale in large shopping centers such as Walmart are 5 percent cheaper than local shops.

On the other hand, the aforementioned trend has a number of drawbacks. For one, it is universally acknowledged that the products in large shops have inferior quality compared to small local shops. For example, one can find a better quality meat in local butchery than malls which usually sell frozen meat.

Furthermore, this development has led to the deterioration of local commerce; thence, it is harder for people to achieve success in the competitive market. This has had an irreversible psychological and financial consequences for hard-working people who were or are forced to close their shops.

To recapitulate, On the basis of the points mentioned above, it can be concluded that people have drifted toward shopping from large shopping malls which has irrefutable benefits such as being more convenient and more economical. However, these places, offer products of lesser quality and have rendered local businesses deteriorated.