Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.To what extent do you agree with this view?

These days, adverting has become a multibillion-dollar industry. Therefore, companies and agencies that offer their expertise in this field are top earners among enterprises. While promoting products is not unethical in nature, I strenuously agree that some techniques used are immoral and intolerable in modern societies.

Firstly, some means of marketing are wrong in principle. The focal point introducing a product should be the advantages and practicality. Instead, in some advertisements, it has been tried to focus on nudity to make a product more memorable and more interesting. For instance, there are a lot of advertisements on television that shows a provocatively overexposed female that presents a product, which is completely unacceptable.

Secondly, the majority of these advertisements are fraudulent. Many features that are introduced in adverts are based on false facts. For example, Volkswagen company stated in its advertisement brochures as well as its internet website that the engines produced by them are amongst top eco-friendlier and most efficient. Later on, it was proven that it was nothing but a marketing scam to attract customers.

Lastly, some advertisements are manipulative. In these type marketing, an advantage in a product is exaggerated to a degree that people feel the need to buy an unnecessary merchandise. Take modern products as an example. Having a 4k television is not a necessity when the majority of movies and series that are being broadcasted are in less quality; nonetheless, manufacturers try to manipulate people into buying the mentioned product by showing precut high-quality scenes on their televisions in malls.

All in all, based on the aforementioned explanation, I firmly agree that there are some advertise tricks such as using sexual provocation, fraudulent misrepresentation and manipulation are immoral and improper in our civilized society.