Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.Discuss both these views and give your

These days, an ample emphasis has been placed on how to raise offspring. While many parents concur that children should be inculcated to participate in group activities, many others claim that it is imperative for juveniles to learn how to keep themselves busy in solitude. This essay aims to discuss both views, followed by my own perspective.

Some guardians believe children should participate in group activities because they acquire inter-personal skills and learn how to be sympathetic. Children learn how to cope with their peers as well as how to behave when in groups, which is definitely helpful in their future professional life. For instance, a young adult that has socially been active during childhood years will be more competent in interacting with colleagues. Moreover, by taking part in group activities such as team sports, children learn that everyone has weaknesses and they should help less unfortunate in order to achieve success. I agree with these points and believe they are irrefutable; therefore, team activities have indeed constructive effects on children.

On the other hand, some others assert individual activities are best for children, for they achieve independence and competitive morality. Individual occupations in leisure time teach children to rely on themselves because no one else is present to either entertain or help them; hence, the only tool to attain success is one’s own skills and proficiency. Furthermore, they learn to be always at the zenith of their performance because there is no one to cover their weaknesses and flaws. However, while these points may seem indisputable, I believe there is the possibility of detrimental consequences such as behavioral and mental disorders like depression, which eclipse the benefits. Thence, I do not think this method worth the cost.

To summarize, although both individual and group occupations in free time seem to have benefits for the children, I tend to disagree with the statement that it is best to encourage children to take part in solitary activities because they may have irreversible consequences such as psychological disorders.