Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools, others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.Discuss both these views and give your own view.

Edification methods have always been the subject of heated debates. While some people assert boys and girls should be taught in separate schools, others opine it is more beneficial for children if they attend mixed schools. This essay aims to investigate the reason behind both views, followed by my perception.

Supporters of single-gender education claim there is one particular reason why their view on edification is justified, namely the less distractive nature of single-sex education due to the absence of another gender. Youngsters have a tendency to be attracted to the opposite sex, which causes them to wander and steer away from their duties. This issue, however, will be eliminated if pupils attend separate schools. This way, they will stay more focused on their courses and get less distracted, allowing them to learn well, which in turn allows them to perform better in their final examination. For instance, statistics of research conducted by the Harvard University in 2015 acknowledge that students who go to separate educational institutions score 21 percent higher marks than those who enroll in mixed ones. This evidence highlights the benefit of enrolling in separate schools due to the scarcity of distractions for tutees.

Another angle on this debate, however, suggests that co-education is a superior method because it helps children improve their social skills. The fact that inter-personal abilities play a pivotal role in people’s success is irrefutable. Students’ who attend mixed schools interact with their counterparts, allowing them to be more competent around other genders, which in turn leads to the development of their social skills. I, for example, went to a high school that was attended by both boys and girls and I learned how to behave and treat the opposite sex with the respect they deserve; consequently, when I started to work at my current job, was more comfortable and confident around my female colleagues.

To recapitulate, this essay has examined both sides of the arguments and has shown both separate and co-education have advantages for students such as less distractive atmosphere and better social development, respectively. However, I strenuously believe children should attend mixed schools because isolating them from opposite gender will lead to social destitution.