130 The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have fi

In this memorandum, margarine has been used instead of butter in the particular restaurant, and customers have not filed much complaints related to the change. As a result, the author claims that customer do not differentiate between butter and margarine or they identify both as just ‘butter’. However, this situation may also be due to few other possibilities than author’s argument.

Advertising makes people believe in things that they do not know much about. If there had been a marketing campaign run by the company, which had made a successful impression on its customer base about the switch to margarine, then customers will be more welcoming toward the change and will be less likely to complain. However, if this explanation is true then customers will usually be able to distinguish between butter and margarine as two separate ingredients and will not refer both as butter which will rival the author’s proposal.

Closely linked to the customer complaints received, is that only 2 percent of customers had complained. But what if the replacement has been done since few days ago and many people have not yet being able to figure out the change in taste or texture. Also, some customers will not be interested in filing complaints and just leave without returning back to the same restaurant. Therefore, if this is true, then author’s explanation is far from being accurate and a much worst situation, which is the company losing its market base due to the replacement is taking place.

Furthermore, there is no evidence given about the nature of survey done to collect customer feedback including how many days were considered since the replacement.

For an example, if the replacement had been done just yesterday and 2 percent of customers would have already complained, there is a chance that in next days number of complaints might rise. If this explanation is correct, then the author’s perfunctory explanation will not shed a light to the situation.

Another explanation could be that, the company had been running a promotion along with the replacement and people have enjoyed the discount ignoring the fact that butter is no longer used. If this explanation is correct, customer might be complaining less due to promotion period and once the promotion ends, there is a likelihood of increase in customer complaints. Therefore, again the author’s explanation might be perfunctory to the situation.

Also, the company can be adding certain texture enhancers to the pancake mix, so as to give the texture of butter to the new pancakes. This can cause the replacement go unnoticed from customers or they can be still happy with end result and did not complain. If this explanation is deemed to be true, then customer will most likely not aware about the replacement and would continue to call as butter even if they receive margarine. However, they might or might not be able to distinguish between them based on prior knowledge.

In conclusion, it is evident that there can be other plausible explanations to the facts presented in this case than the author’s explanation for less customer complaints after replacing butter with margarine. The correct explanation to the situation can be unveiled with a proper market research.