Fifteen years ago Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors Since that time Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes and overall stu

The author of the argument suggests that, the student evaluation of professors at Omega University should be terminated so that its graduates will be able to land on sophisticated jobs in future. However, this argument is not based on clear evidence to support the fact.

The graduates not being successful at securing better jobs can also be due to factors like university curriculum being outdated and not on par with what industry asks for, or students being less interested in extra-curriculum activities which has caused to lack essential social and interpersonal skills the jobs need. Therefore, it needs to be found out through a university survey about what other social and environmental factors have changed in this 15 years after the new evaluation system is introduced.

Further, with the evidence of the survey, it can be identified if the problem of graduates being unable to secure better jobs is common to all graduates or for graduates in certain fields only. If so, more specific and long term measures, than author’s argument will be needed to address the issues in those subject curricula or exam structure.

Closely linked to the statement that professors have been assigning higher grades in their classes to earn better teaching evaluation from students, there is no evidence to support it. In actuality, the students have been performing well enough that professors have been assigning fair marks to everyone. And this can be verified from an appropriate university survey. If it is proven that professors have actually been assigning higher grades to students without a justifiable base, then it will provide a base to the author’s claim. Further evidence on this can be collected by revisiting the 15 year old student evaluation process of professors. If it is evident that some evaluation criteria are providing non-justifiable authority to students that is jeopardizing the professors job role, then measures can proposed to either improve the existing evaluation system or cancel it based on the impact.

By considering all these angles and factors, it is evident that more evidence and related information from the university community is needed to support the argument made by the author.