130 The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have fi

In this memorandum, margarine has been used instead of butter in the particular restaurant, and customers have not filed much complaints related to the switch. As a result, the author claims that customer do not differentiate between butter and margarine or they identify both as just ‘butter’. However, this situation may also be due to few other possibilities than author’s argument.

Advertising makes people believe in things that they do not know much about. If there had been a marketing campaign run by the company, which had made a successful impression on its customer base about the switch to margarine, then customers will be more welcoming the change and will be less likely to complain. However, if this explanation is true then customers will already be able to distinguish between butter and margarine as two separate ingredients and will not refer both as butter.

Closely linked to the customer complaints received, is that only 2 percent of customers had complained. But what if the replacement has been done since few days ago and many people have not yet being able to figure out the change in taste or texture. There is no evidence given about the nature of survey done to collect customer feedback including how many days were considered since the replacement.

For an example, if the replacement had been done just yesterday and 2 percent of customers would have already complained, there is a chance that in next days number of complaints might rise. However, they will be aware about butter and margarine as two separate ingredients if this explanation is true which will falsify the author’s argument.

Another explanation could be that, the company had been running a promotion along with the replacement and people have enjoyed the discount ignoring the fact that butter is no longer used. If this explanation is correct, customers might be or might not be aware that butter and margarine as two products and based on that they will not continue or continue to refer to as butter.

Also, the company can be adding certain texture enhancers to the pancake mix, so as to give the texture of butter to the new pancakes. This can cause the replacement go unnoticed from customers or they can be still happy with end result and did not complain. If this explanation is deemed to be true, then customer will most likely not aware about the replacement and would continue to call as butter even if they receive margarine. However, they might or might not be able to distinguish between them based on prior knowledge.

In conclusion, it is evident that there can be plausible explanations to the facts presented in this case than the author’s argument for less complaints after replacing butter with margarine.