The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station quot To reverse a decline in listener numbers our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock music format The decline has occurred despite population gro

In this memorandum, the manager of WWAC radio station claims that, changing to news and talk format from rock-music format will attract more listeners because local sales for music has declined. This argument will need to be analyzed with further evidence and identify if it is justifiable or not.

Closely linked to the two claims that there is a decline in number of radio listeners and local sales of recorded music, there is no statistical evidence given to witness the decline in quantitative aspect. The percentage of decline of listeners/local music sales throughout an identified period of time followed by targeted market survey would most certainly be a very important evidence, when identifying the actual factors leading to the decline. This will further help to evaluate whether the manager’s claim is still valid or not.

For an example, if a 3% decline in number of listeners has taken place in the month of April then through a targeted market survey, further information can be gathered what specific situations have caused this decline. If the market survey says that, a new radio channel is winning the listeners with their interactive music program line-up, then moving to news and talk format is not going to win them back. The WWAC will have to plan for new strategy relying on their existing rock-music format.

Further, if the decline of 3% is due to foot ball season and most of the residents are outdoor cheering for their favorite team, then this can be a temporary decline. Such an evidence will weaken the Manager’s argument to adopt the news and talk format abandoning rock-music format. Alternatively, the WWAC could introduce a new foot ball exclusive for the season alongside usual line-up!

If the drop in sale of recorded music is 7% from the last quarter, and it was found from a targeted customer survey, that the unit price has been gone up recently and since senior citizens are naturally into saving, believed that the new price is not reasonable. Such an evidence will rather strengthen the fact not to replace the rock-music format with news and talk format. Residents will naturally listen to radio often than before, since they have stopped buying music.

Since the Memorandum also states many retired seniors are getting settled in the area and they have to be converted to active listeners. The new residents will have radio preference which need to be uncovered with proper market survey. Therefore, before simply deciding with existing facts, it will be a sound action to let the market survey results speaks for what the residents are actually needing. If majority had voted for music but a combination of different genres than rock, then the WWAC can plan their strategy without completely changing the format. If they prefer, news and talk format instead, then it will be sensible to move to news and talk format as planned. Therefore, the market survey on residents will carry another important set of evidence to support the Manger’s argument.

Therefore, it is readily apparent that the Manager’s argument is missing important statistical and time-wise evidence about the decline of number of listeners and decline of sale of recorded music. And there is a high possibility that the evidence following a market research will weaken the argument.