In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout which are known to eat amphibian eggs were introduced into the park.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article assumes that the reduction of amphibians population in the Xanadu National Park is for the sake of introducing of trout _amphibian eggs eater- apart from the air and water pollution which are the prime cause of this incident in the global. This assumption could not be accepted as it stands since it rests on the series of vague reasons all of which challenging the issue in some ways.

First of all, there is no evidence that the Xanadu National Park is a separate spot from the other locations in the world. The air and water pollution can scatter so quickly; there is no matter where this park is located, if the polluting source indicated in a particular place, its negative side-effects would deliver to this park too; provided it is isolated from the atmosphere and is a closed area. On the other hand, this area is not exceptional from this worldwide event, and the factor of the air and water contamination cannot be underestimated. The argument could hence be attested if it had explicitly listed the feature of this location.

Next, this surmise is shaky as there is a little clue about the number of the population regarding both amphibians and trout. In a case which the ratio of the trout to existence amphibians is less than one, the trout cannot be solely responsible for this reduction, while the amphibians have this opportunity to recover after the invasive eating habit of the trout. Even the percentage of these two animals is identical; the assumed claim is a fallacy too. As long as there is no statistic about the pace of the trout's eating habits and the velocity of amphibians in laying the eggs, the author could conclude that the trout leads to this decrement. For instance, if the amphibians with the same population of trout on 1975 laid eggs twofold more than the trout required diet, the amphibian had this chance to survive.

Finally, the argument declares an unverified hypothesis which is based on the unclarified living condition. The author assumes that the survival situation of 2002 is as same as it in 1975; however, it is impossible that there was no alteration during this long duration. For example, perhaps during 1975 the park contained massive amounts of the water body to support the amphibian's survival; these lacks and rivers had been disappeared during this long span of time, and the amphibian lost their favorable habitats. Or maybe there is a variation in the rate of female to male of amphibians in this duration. In the last 27 years the number of productive females had been decreased; as a result, there are few fertile factors to increase the population.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author apparently mentioned to the location and condition of the park, the ratio of the amphibian to trout; moreover, it presented the evidence that living condition during the long span of time is consistent.