In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument draws a correlation between the use of hormones in cows with the increased rate of childhood obesity in Jalikistan. He presented evidence to suggest that the children who did drink milk gained weight while the lactose intolerant children stayed the same weight. The claim is deeply flawed due to a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology.

The hormone’s intended use was to create larger cows, but an assumption is made that the hormone directly effected the milk. The increase of body mass may affect the skeletal and muscular structure of an organism, but no tests were conducted between cows that did and did not take the hormone supplements. Therefore the claim that the hormone effected the milk is unsubstantiated.

Additionally, the author gives no claim as too how childhood obesity is measured. Surely as children grow up, they gain weight so the percent increase can lump in children that are gaining weight normally. The author could have provided base metabolic index, weight, activity level of these studied children to accurately show that their bodies are actually gaining fat.

It is possible that the hormone does have an effect on children. If It can make one mammal larger, it can have the same affect on humans. With further testing, it would be possible to show a causation between this hormone intake and children gaining weight. Depending on the hormone, it’s equally as likely that the children’s muscle mass would increase as fat would. If it’s increased muscle, then you cannot label this phenomena a child obesity crisis.

With more analysis, it’s possible to understand the effects of this hormone and while children are gaining weight. Until then, this argument has too many assumptions and flaws based on correlation and not causation.