“Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As civilizations develop, laws are enacted by the ruling government. Legislators create and change laws in response to current events, and revoke outdated rules or resolve present economic, political, and social dilemmas. In an ideal world, a set number of laws would make sure peace and prosperity within a society and keep amiable relations with foreign countries without adjustments. But that’s what happens in reality.

In order consider a law just, it needs to protect people’s liberties, livelihood, and give them opportunities to pursue their ambitions. Inversely, an unjust law does the opposite by encroaching on their freedoms, and using systemic means go keeping them from advancing their career, education, health, etc. Unjust laws support practices like: making weapons easily purchasable, permitting corporations to pollute the planet, allowing police departments to get away with police brutality, and many other actions that aren’t illegal, but still endanger citizens.

To set a standard for moral order, everyone must obey laws. If they’re not, then it sets a precedents that there’s an avenue for people to disobey. In most governments, people who don’t conform face reproductions; the main reason committing crimes isn’t preferable. My following just laws, citizens make sure the safety of their communities. Therefore it’s necessary to have every person follow them. Alternatively, if a law is unjust, then disobeying won’t be of any use. Actively opposing the laws won’t fix them, but instead punish the people who aim to set a positive example. Instead that same energy could be put towards organizing citizens and using democratic means to change legislation to protect their prosperity.

By disobeying laws, activists can cause an uproar, which in some cases can further a movement. But it is safer and more profitable to appeal to ruling legislator's common sense and empathy to help them realize whether a law is unjust and work together to fix it. Every person as a part of society must aim to make it better for themselves and their neighbors. That means after the rules to keep everyone safe, and actively using their voice and representations to change the unjust ones.