The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Social media has allowed its users to make their lives and thoughts easily sharable. It’s cacophony of billions of voices expressing their opinion on current events and each other’s lives. Prior to the invention of Facebook and WordPress, people were limited to their sphere of friends and family. Now, the social network has connected the globe together. While this is an endearing thought, it expands a societal problem: the spread of misinformation.

Like a game of telephone, when one piece of information is shared from user to user on social media, the intended message tends to be completely different from what it was originally. An article could be completely factual and neutral, but people perceive it according to their perspective. Differentiation in opinion can be rooted in background, genetics, upbringing, or anything that can make an individual unique. This is certainly acceptable and it’s healthy for people to have differing perspectives on the news of the day. What’s unhealthy is to depend on a tertiary source of information that’s not accredited or completely encompassing of the situation.

While articles that emerge from national publications are reviewed and cited, anyone can post their opinion on social media and send it out to the world. It’s certainly much easier to express these erroneous thoughts, and since they are more accessible, people are influences by them. Just like gossip in local communities, people are more interested in the dramatic claims than the truth of the matter. Alternatively, in major news organizations, information from their sources are cross-references, proof read, and compiled into a single article that isn’t written to sway, but only to tell. In order to combat the decline of political discourse, people must consider the source of this information and seek certified publications that reports on the news in a non-partisan way.

While technology has made the spread of misinformation easier, it has also been a tool for awareness. Users in Libya used Twitter to stir outrage when their government were burning their citizens in the streets. Minorities weaponized social media to raise activism against police brutality. It does give a voice to those who otherwise wouldn’t, due to systemic social, political, and economic injustices. Social media is a platform for people to express their thoughts, but it shouldn’t be taken for fact, and it should be a responsibility for news organizations to upkeep a standard and to tell people where credible information can be found.