1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Based on recent global warming trends and reports from local hunters, the author builds a link between global warming and the declining of deer population. However, her claim is full of holes and fallacies due to lack of solid evidence. More facts --- such as a more accurate account of deer population, the temperature trend in this area, and changes of eco-system at that area--- is needed to evaluate and substantiate her claim.

Though the author based her argument on reports from local hunters that the deer population is declining, this report is not clear enough to render any solid conclusion. All the information it provides is a vague account of 'declining'. However, the scope of observation, the long-term trend, and the numbers of deer observed is not clear. For example, the hunters may only observe deer near their own houses, and because less deer came to human villages this year, they falsely claim the deer population is declining. Or, it is likely that the long-term trend is that the deer number is rising, contrary to the hunters' observation. To provide a solid evidence, the author needs to provide a detailed survey on deer population in this area --- including evidence such as what the long-term trend is and how many deer are each year.

Moreover, the author contributes the declining number of deer to the trend of global warming. Though it is a fact that due to global warming, sea ice is melting and temperature is rising, more evidence is needed on how global warming has affected this area. It is likely that, though the temperature there has risen, it is not high enough to melt ice covering the sea separating those islands. If sea ice there is not melted, the author's claim is fallacious, because it will not affect the migration patterns of deer. As a result, the author's claim is not persuasive enough without evaluation on how global warming change the habitants of the deer.

Furthermore, even if the number of deer is declining and the ice does melt, there may be myriads of factors that could also affect the population of deer, but the author has ignored. For example, there may be a disease spreading across deer in that area that caused the population decline; or there may be a rise in the amounts of predators, contributing to the decline of deer population. Many other possible factors could affect the population of deer. Without ruling out other possible explanations, the author's claim is not substantiated.

To conclude, to build a solid arguments, the author needs to provide more evidence ,such as the changes of deer population, the effect of global warming on that area, and the changes of eco-system in that area. Without further evidence, her argument is not persuasive enough due to lack of necessary facts.