The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times

We often imagine that there are some fundamental differences between people living now and people who lived in earlier times; however, we will also presume that people nowadays and people in history are largely germane to each other. I am assured that both of them are illusions that could be dispelled by reading history, and besides dispelling illusions, the main benefit of reading history is to know how to understand ourselves in current society.

I agree with the statement insofar as through careful study of history, we will learn some constancy in society across times, since our human natures --- our fears, desires, and passions---have largely unchanged over time. And through learning lessons from history, we will form better understandings of our natures as well as our current situations. Many people, being too optimistic towards the progress of history, may design a utopia for human-beings where all its people fulfill their desires and dreams. However, by looking into history, we will be fully cognizant that due to some constancy of human society, such as violence and crime, it will be really hard to establish such a utopia. To conclude, study of history will dispel some illusions on human differences and shed lights on understanding of our natures.

However, though I concede that historical study will help us learn what remains unchanged in history, I believe that learning about differences is also a main benefit brought by studying history. History is fabricated with cultural values, economic conditions, and so on. All those variables form different situations people in a certain period need to face. And by learning that, we will be more open-minded to reckon on real-world problems, for example, how the situation differed from the past, and what new methods should be applied to handle the emerging trouble. After all, we need innovations to solve those unprecedented problems. To conclude, learning history is not all about figuring out similarity, but also knowing about differences across space and time.

For the final analysis, I think the most important benefit of history study goes beyond mere understanding of present. The lessons history provides is about providing insights into real-world problems. I am fully convinced that all of those benefits by learning history will contribute to a better understanding of the present, thus making people more equipped to solve real-world problems. After understanding the particularities as well as the similarities, we will be more informed in viewing the present by comparing ourselves to historical events. For example, knowing about the tragedy of WWII, we will be cautious about dictatorship, populism, and violence, thus eliminating possible signs of evilness to ensure people a peaceful future.

To conclude, the main benefit of study of history is not limited to learning the similarity of historical events or human natures. It is also about knowing about differences and changes. But more fundamentally, understanding of the past provides insights into the future.