[30] The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The notion that to eliminate the working hour in order to reduce the accidents and boost the productivity seems an obvious conclusion at first glance, while this contains dubious assumptions. Without further verification, this statement may not reliable and can be put forward undoubtedly.

To begin with, the assumption that the higher possibility about accidents is due to the fatigue. There is no direct evidence to prove that the Quiot Manufacturing has excessive working hours and causes workers to lose their concentration then leads to accidents. If the accident rate is not because of the working hours, to reduce the working hours might not help and the productivity will drop since the laborers work less. The different types of business may bring different dangers as well. There are other results like more dangerous working environment, heavier devices, and the insufficient staff training in the Quiot manufacturing are possible causes that need to be seen.

Moreover, though the experts claim that the main factor that make the accidents can be sleep deprivation among workers, the other relating information is not shown. Who are the experts? If the experts are hired by laborers, it is possible the experts need to say words that benefit the laborers. What condition does the experts find the conclusion? How does the experiment work? What type of business or manufacturing industries does the experiment be executed? If this is just a statement made by experts without trustworthy data, the claim can not be taken fully since there might have holes.

The other assumption is that to decrease the working hours can increase productivity. If the workers work less time, why the productivity can be proliferated? Maybe the vice president expects that the laborers will work faster since they have more energy than before, however, the condition may not be without enough supportive analysis. The productivity may not increase and may become worse because maybe the Quiot manufacturing is a high-tech and delicate industry, with faster working speed, the more mistakes will come. The assumption includes impractical speculation.

In sum, to reduce the working hours might not be successful because of lacking information. Clear reasons about the higher accident rate compared with Panoply Industries plant need to be verified. Enhanced productivity may not happen after the reduced of working hours since the lesser working time may represent the lesser producing.