54. Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author argues that the large mammal species had become extinct because of some climate change or other environmental factor, not because of human. Although it may seem convincing at first, unwarranted assumptions lead me to conclude that the claim is wrong in many regards.

First, the author assumes lack of evidence on significant interaction between human and the mammals proves the claim that humans cannot be a factor in the species` extinctions. However, it is possible that human`s marginal contact with the mammals can lead their extinctions. For example, mammals can be infected by human. Human may have critical disease which leads them to die. In such case, without significant contact with humans, mammals may get the disease and finally become extinct. Therefore, author cannot jump to the conclusion that human is not a factor in the mammals` extinctions.

Another assumption author makes is that lack of mammals` bones indicates that the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. It is plausible that human may have hunted the large mammal species and after eating them, they might discard the bones of large mammals in the sea because of some other reasons. Also, it is plausible that they might use large mammals` bones as weapons or decoration for their house. To use bones for their purpose, they might hone the bones, so archaeologists cannot recognize them as a bones of large mammals. Therefore, human can be a factor for cause of large mammals` extinctions.

Lastly, the author assumes that climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the mammals` extinctions because there is no evidence that people have caused their extinctions. In all likelihood, some insects might cause their extinctions. Although their size is quite diminutive, they might have crucial poison that make large mammals immediately to die. In such cases, environmental factor or climate change cannot be the only possible factor that have caused the species` extinctions.

In conclusion, the author`s claim is unsound on many grounds. To bolster his claim, he should reconsider about above assumptions.