60、The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the author recommends investment in Consolidated Industries because of the prediction of an increasing demand for heating oil in the Northeastern United States. To support the claim, the author quotes that oil has long been used as a major fuel for heating in the area. Moreover, the climate forecasts in the area show below-normal temperatures will continue for the next few years. In addition, there is a rising construction in building new homes due to recent population growth in the region. While the program might be beneficial to some extent, the reasoning of this claim is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author’s recommendation.

First of all, whether the author’s recommendation is advisable highly depends on the soundness of the assumption that a below-normal temperature will continue for the next few years. However, this assumption is potentially problematic because the author simply states the region experienced 90 days of below-normal temperature in the last heating season without providing strong evidence or statistics. The temperature in the last heating season does not exactly predict the future climate. Moreover, due to global warming, there is a possibility that the temperature in the winter will be higher than that of the previous year. Therefore, If the methods used behinds the weather forecast is untenable, the author’s argument will be unconvincing.

Even if the aforementioned assumption remains tenable. / In addition, we should still be cautious about ….

It is worthwhile examining the soundness of another assumption that increasing housing supply in response to population growth. It is unreasonable to assume that a housing supply increase due to population growth will definitely corresponds to an increasing demand of heating oil consumption in the winter. If the region is mainly considered as summer vocation stay, and people mainly come in summer and leave in winter. Thus, the consumption of heating oil will not rise significantly with the number of new homes being built. Moreover, a population growth could be potentially offset by the residents in town who are scared off by the record low temperature and spend their winter time in or even move to other cities. In such cases, the heating oil consumption might remain at the same level comparing to that of last year. If any of these possibilities is true, then we are inclined to believe that there may not be an increasing demand in the heating oil and the investment recommendation therefore requires a more detailed investigation.

In addition, the author suggests recommendation of investing in one of major provider of home heating oil - Consolidated Industries. The reader should be cautious about the assumption behinds the recommendation. However, the future demand for heating oil is not the only one of many factors that should be taken into consideration when making decision. The author’s claim suffers from a questionable assumption which hastily generalizes the company’s profitability is promising. Factors like company financial performance is also important. If the company does not hedge the raw material price and faces a significant rise in the production cost of heating oil due to a rise in price or a price war is initiated by newly entered competitors, the company may suffer from loss thus providing a lower return than other companies. Therefore, if any of the above scenarios turns out to be true, then there is reason to doubt the profitability of the Consolidated Industries.

In a nutshell, whether or not we should follow the writer’s recommendation depends greatly on the validity of the assumptions in the argument. The weather prediction is accurate, the residents in the region are increasing consistently even in the winter, and most importantly the financial condition of Consolidated Industries. While the author’s suggestion appears appealing, the questionable assumptions discussed above many deprive it of its feasibility. Consequently, a more thorough research regarding the target company and supporting evidences are required to ascertain the validity of the argument.