The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of an article argues that the need for heating oil in Northeastern United states, where winters' are typically cold, is going to increase in coming times. In support to his argument the author has provided climate forecasters prediction about the weather pattern and increase in number of homes being built to recent population growth. furthermore, the author has related the above stated reasons for forecasting the increase in the heating oil required and has recommended investment in consolidated industries to increase the production of heating oil. Though the underlying argument certainly has merit, because of a lack of evidence, weak assumptions, vague language the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. some of the flaws are as follows.

Firstly, the author while stating the climate forecasters prediction that the weather pattern will continue for several more years has used this as evidence to show the demand for heating oil will increase in coming time. The author has not given any proof about the prediction statistics of the climate forecasters. For example, the prediction statistics of the group of climate forecasters is not good means that till date they have in all predicted around 200 events and the probability of the event to be true is very low.

Secondly, the author using as evidence increase in the number of homes being build to predict a increase in demand of heating oil has not stated the exact relation of this with the increase in demand.For example, the new houses being built are by the people who come to stay there when the climate is moderate and not when the climate is too cold.

Thirdly, the author has recommended to invest in the consolidated industries to increase the production of heating oil has not given any data showing that the industry's performance, market share and willingness to increase the production of heating oil. For example, if the industry is planning to cut the production of heating oil because of some internal reasons.

Although as written the author's argument is categorically unconvincing. the author could strengthen the argument were he to have added the statistical data predicting the increase in heating oil , showing the relation of increase in the number of homes being built to the increase in demand. if the author has provided the more information base on increase in demand then the argument's reasoning would have improved. However, without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

In the conclusion, the author presents a interesting but flawed argument. Had the author given the more information stated above as support to the argument. The author's argument would have been persuasive. As it stands the author's argument is too weak. Hence, I remain unconvinced.